Exeposé: Deputy Editor 2014-2015

2015-01-08 05.55.47 pm

I returned to the University of Exeter and Exeposé with it, where I used to be Music Editor (the year it was a runner up for Guardian Student Publication of the Year, no less), to fill one of the Deputy Editor positions. Along with my co-editor Vanessa Tracey, our two Editors and the two News Editors, we made up the Senior Team. Basically, we put together the paper every fortnight, and me and Vanessa ran the Comment Section. Most of my duties involved design (and general InDesign and Photoshop), copy editing and other editorial duties, including social secretary stuff, promotion and generally supporting and organising the rest of the 50-strong team.

During my tenure, three of our cover stories made Buzzfeed’s top student stories of 2014 and we were shortlisted for Guardian Student Newspaper of the Year 2015.

Here’s the link to our Issuu page, and our website (runner-up of the Guardian Student Website of the Year).

And here are a couple of my favourite issues of Comment:

The Freshers’ Issue (which included a chance to pose ‘as if I’d caught Chlamydia’, an opportunity not to be missed)
On Animal Testing
A bumper issue on fees and student finance

I also came up with the idea for this cover photo, which turned out rather well.

Leave a comment